The Movie to Ban • Rotten Tomatoes is an Understatement

Boycott Blue Bayou Movie and Stand in Solidarity with Korean Adoptees

Why It’s Important to Value Someone Else’s Story

Nancy Blackman
15 min readOct 8, 2021

--

Boycott Blue Bayou: Stand in Solidary with Korean Adoptees by Nancy Blackman. Danger No Entry red tape. escalator. misappropriate. deportation. stealing. theft. character. blue bayou movie. justin chon. justin crapser. adoptee. adoptees. korean adoptee. korean adoptees.
Photo by Issy Bailey on Unsplash

Disclaimer: As a writer and blogger, I write about things that matter to me. These are purely my thoughts. I am a biracial Korean who acknowledges that Korea is not a large country and somewhere in every Korean’s ancestry, we are all family.

Korea was the first country to begin transnational adoptions, so when I hear stories of Korean adoptees, I know that we are connected. When those stories are heartbreaking, I want to stand up for them. I am not an adoptee, but I write this to advocate and give a voice for others to do the right thing.

To all adoptees who don’t have a country, my heart sees you. Even when you’re hiding from the world, my heart sees you.

Blue Bayou Alert: Justin Chon used one man’s painful story to make money. It’s not a new phenomenon, but it is an impostor scam. Don’t go see the movie. Please. In fact, I am asking you to stand in solidarity with Korean adoptees and boycott the Blue Bayou movie.

Here’s why: Anyone who knows Adam Crapser’s deportation story knows that though Justin Chon used the fictitious name…

--

--

Nancy Blackman

8X Top Writer. Editor. Writing Coach. Owner of Refresh the Soul publication. Editor: The Shortform. Published in: “Mixed Korean: Our Stories" — Kindle.