EFFECTS OF PTSD ON THYROID

Can PTSD Cause Hypothyroidism?

Two Ways to Overcome the Trauma

Nancy Blackman
6 min readAug 19, 2021

--

Photo Credit: Susan Wilkinson on Unsplash

This is part 3 of a 10-part series on my hypothyroid journey.

Yes, there is proof now that trauma, specifically PTSD (Post Traumatic Stress Disorder), directly correlates to thyroid dysfunction. Cambridge University published an abstract where they tested 45,992 women and found a direct correlation between PTSD and hypothyroidism.

I learned this late in my hypothyroidism therapy. I remember my first visit with my current therapist, Kimberly Jung. By the way, she takes clients virtually. As most therapists do, she had my intake form where she asked me to list any health conditions. Her words when she got to “adrenal fatigue” were, “of course you do!” I asked her what she meant. She connected the dots with my migraines and hypothyroidism. She then explained that the thyroid and adrenal glands are generally always affected by trauma. Huh.

I had been in therapy for many years because of a challenging parental relationship. Apparently, the long-term effects of that emotional abuse created continual stress upon my endocrine system, which directly affects my nervous system.

If you’ve read my previous articles, you know that I switched to a naturopathic doctor, Dr. Amy Nelson

--

--

Nancy Blackman

8X Top Writer. Editor. Writing Coach. Owner of Refresh the Soul publication. Read more of my writing: “Mixed Korean: Our Stories.” https://www.325kamra.org/buy.